Penn Museum logo

Public Tours

Unlock the wonder of the human story through a guided tour of the Museum’s collections. Visitors can travel through time and space to learn more about ancient peoples in places around the world, along with their connections to present-day life. The Museum offers guided gallery tours to a wide range of groups, from kindergarten classes to retirement communities.

Guided private tours can be reserved in advance and are available in English, Mandarin, Spanish, French, Italian, Hebrew, Swahili, and Arabic (subject to guide availability).

A tour in the Egypt gallery

Guided Public Tours

Take an hour-long journey with a volunteer docent or Graduate Guide. Explore individual galleries in depth or learn about intriguing objects throughout the Museum in these interactive, high-energy tours.

a global guide tour guide giving a tour and showing an artifact

Global Guide Tours

What better way to learn about the culture of another place than to speak to someone who grew up there? Through the Global Guides Program, the Museum offers gallery tours led by Philadelphians who grew up in countries around the world. Included with regular Museum admission.

a tour in the galleries

Specialty Tours

Sign up in advance for themed tours that showcase the Museum collection in a new light, from the origins of beer and wine to mythical monsters depicted in artifacts. Tour fees include regular Museum admission.

Public Tours

Enjoy hour-long guided tours, open to families and general visitors! Tour topics change every weekend and explore interesting themes or offer an in-depth look at a gallery. Visitors meet for these tours in the Main Entrance on the Main Floor, behind the Sphinx. Groups of 10 or more should schedule a private guided tour and qualify for a special group discount.


Dec


2

Global Guide Tour

Friday | December 2 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


3

Rome Gallery Tour

Saturday | December 3 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


3

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Saturday | December 3 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


3

Global Guide Tour

Saturday | December 3 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


4

Middle East Galleries Tour

Sunday | December 4 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


4

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Sunday | December 4 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


4

Global Guide Tour

Sunday | December 4 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


9

Global Guide Tour

Friday | December 9 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


10

Highlights of the Penn Museum Tour

Saturday | December 10 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


10

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Saturday | December 10 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


10

Global Guide Tour

Saturday | December 10 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


11

Egypt Galleries Tour

Sunday | December 11 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


11

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Sunday | December 11 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


11

Global Guide Tour

Sunday | December 11 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


16

Global Guide Tour

Friday | December 16 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


17

Egypt Galleries Tour

Saturday | December 17 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


17

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Saturday | December 17 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


17

Global Guide Tour

Saturday | December 17 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


18

Rome Gallery Tour

Sunday | December 18 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Dec


18

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Sunday | December 18 | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET




Dec


18

Global Guide Tour

Sunday | December 18 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


23

Global Guide Tour

Friday | December 23 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Dec


30

Global Guide Tour

Friday | December 30 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET




Jan


7

Highlights of the Penn Museum Tour

Saturday | January 7 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


8

Asia Galleries Tour

Sunday | January 8 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


14

Rome Gallery Tour

Saturday | January 14 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


15

Rome Gallery Tour

Sunday | January 15 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


22

Mexico & Central America Gallery Tour

Sunday | January 22 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


28

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Saturday | January 28 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Jan


29

Asia Galleries Tour

Sunday | January 29 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


4

Eastern Mediterranean Gallery Tour

Saturday | February 4 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


5

Mexico & Central America Gallery Tour

Sunday | February 5 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


11

Middle East Galleries Tour

Saturday | February 11 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


12

Rome Gallery Tour

Sunday | February 12 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


18

Highlights of the Penn Museum Tour

Saturday | February 18 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


19

Middle East Galleries Tour

Sunday | February 19 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


25

Rome Gallery Tour

Saturday | February 25 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET




Feb


26

Native American Voices Tour

Sunday | February 26 | 11:00 am - 12:00 pm ET